Personal experience with the city

I went to New York before it became a trend.

When I saw how popular the city had become after I came back, my trip suddenly felt less special. It was like I did the same as everyone – and trust me I don’t like that at all!

But then I got to think about it: all those people were going to New York on holidays. They were only spending a few days there, trying to visit as much as possible in a short amount of time.

The difference with me is that I actually lived in New York. Maybe it was only for 6 months, but those 6 months were probably the best of my life.

I got to visit everything I wanted to, I got to go to concerts and book signings, to walk around, to shop – way too much! – to learn the language and to try to fit in.

It sounds like a pretty special trip to me!

Favourite places

I had LOTS of favourite places in New York, but let’s talk about the most important ones:

  • 5th Avenue

This avenue is very important as it connects you to a lot of must-see places in Manhattan.

Shopping lover? You definitely need to go to the 5th Avenue!

Book lover? Barnes & Nobles between 45th and 46th street is for you!

  • Central Park

It is THE place to go to. It’s a beautiful park with lots of activities to do. Once you enter the park (South entrance on 5th Avenue) you forget about the noises, the skyscrapers and everything around you. It’s a little piece of heaven in the middle of the most populated city in the United States.

In the winter you can enjoy some ice-skating at Wollman Rink; in the summer go check out the amusement park called The Victorian Gardens!

  • Battery Park

This park is located all the way to the South of Manhattan. It is the place where you can take the ferries to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. No need to say that you NEED to go there if visiting New York.

  • Rockefeller Center

Accessible from the 5th Avenue, 30 Rockefeller Plaza will offer you the best panoramic city view you will ever see! The Observation Deck (the Top of the Rock) on the 70th floor will make you face the whole city, but most importantly – the Empire State Building.

You can also visit the 86th floor observatory of the Empire State Building – but as someone who did both, I find the view from the Rockefeller Center much better: you can face the Empire State Building! Do I need to say more?!

Facts about New York

– The city is beautiful and cheap

– The people are friendly and cheerful

– The subway is cheap but complicated

– Cabs are literally everywhere

– New Yorkers use air conditioning to excess

– You can find food and drinks on every corner

– New York is one of the safest cities in the world

Bottom line:

If you have the chance to go to New York: just go for it! It will be an amazing experience that you will never forget.

As far as I am concerned, I am definitely going back to New York one day! Because leaving this city was – by far – one of the hardest things that I had to do.

