General information about The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars is a book which was released in 2012. Its author is the famous John Green: an American writer who won many prizes and awards for his work.

Here’s a look at the back cover of the book:

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

It makes you want to buy the book now and devour it, doesn’t it? That’s exactly what I did!

The Fault in Our Stars: my favourite book

This book has a special place in my heart. It’s the first book that I have EVER read more than once! And if you open it – you would see that it’s full of turned-down corners and underlined sentences.

The story moved me so much!

I can still remember my tight throat and the urge to burst into tears while reading the novel for the first time.

Okay – it might not seem appealing said like that. But trust me, this story is worth reading.

My favourite quotes from The Fault in Our Stars

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”

“I don’t ever want to do that to you,” I told him. “Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“The world,” he said, “is not a wish-granting factory.”

“I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I am grateful.”

“What else? She is so beautiful. You don’t get tired of looking at her. You never worry if she is smarter than you: You know she is. She is funny without ever being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her, Van Houten. You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.”

The Fault in Our Stars: the movie

In 2014, the movie The Fault in Our Stars came out.

Lucky us!

The movie is as heart-breaking and funny and sad and amazing as the book – if you didn’t notice yet: I am a BIG FAN of this story!

Advice: when there is an adaptation from a book, you should always read the book first and then watch the movie. I find it better to be able to imagine the characters and settings myself!

If you read the book already OR if you don’t want to listen to me OR if you just want to see it again – here’s the link to see the movie trailer:

TheFaultInOurStarsTrailer

Other books from John Green

If you are interested in more amazing stories from John Green, you definitely need to check out An Abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns.

